August 20, 2014
What became Toronto is becoming more…
May 13, 2014
Fort York Visitor Centre… almost there!
October 10, 2013
Inside the Blockhouse: How A Local Start Up is Making History Come Alive at Fort York
June 3, 2013
How Does Fort York Taste (and how can it be Sweetened)?

Fort York is our common ground. This is where urban Toronto was established in 1793 and where we defended ourselves in the War of 1812. Fort York reflects the international story of today's city through its 200+ year-old story of conflict, change and community-building. To get to know Fort York is to get to know ourselves and how we became Torontonians.

Fort York National Historic Site is a 43-acre open, green space near the centre of our city. It contains a unique legacy: an authentic Napoleonic-era fort containing the largest collection of original War of 1812 buildings in Canada, and probably anywhere. The Battle of York, fought here in 1813, brought British, allied First Nations and Canadian-born peoples together to defend their community. Their sacrifice and determination led, ultimately, to the small settlement of York becoming the City of Toronto -- one the most prosperous and pluralistic cities in the world today.

Toronto's commemoration of the Bicentennial of the War of 1812 provides an opportunity to revitalize Fort York and give Toronto a new sense of its place and own experience. Over the next few years, the plan for revitalization calls for: